AMX Mining | 投資鋰電

投資鋰電

 

通常有兩種方式來投資這種金屬。 人們可以直接購買參與鋰礦開採或鋰離子電池生產的公司的股票。 或者可以參與投資於這類公司的基金。 投資的成功取決於移動設備的持續普及和電動汽車的普及。 所有這些設備都需要鋰離子電池,因此對金屬的需求將會猛增。 2012 年這些電池的全球市場價值為 117 億美元。到 2016 年底,這一數字預計將翻一番,達到 225 億美元。 同樣在 2012 年,汽車行業佔鋰離子電池市場的 14%。 到 2016 年底,這一數字到 2016 年底將增長至 25%。

 

 

鋰價格歷史

有兩個因素決定鋰的價格,首先我們需要考慮豐度。

只有這種元素的供應有限,因為它只佔地球地殼的 0.0007%。 智利生產世界市場的大部分元素,澳大利亞排在第二位。 在美國,你只能在全國找到一個礦。 它也不是以元素形式自然發生的。

由於供應有限,任何需求的增加都可以真正提高金屬在世界市場的價格。 由於特斯拉汽車公司目前的成功,現在正在發生這種情況。 電動汽車行業像鳳凰一樣崛起,蘋果和谷歌即將推出自己的版本。 即使是帶著億萬富豪賈躍亭帶領的中國人,也將在 2017 年前投入數十億美元的汽車生產工廠。

這些都意味著對鋰離子電池的需求將進一步上升。 碳酸鋰價格比 2015 年上漲 47%,2017 年純電動汽車銷量增加。

再加上鋰離子電池也用於智能手機,平板電腦,筆記本電腦和其他可穿戴設備等移動設備,並且商品的需求量也一定會增加。

 

價格預測

從 2015 年到 2024 年,預計輕型車鋰離子電池的市場供應總量

根據市場情報,大約 2210 億美元。 目前的價格預測顯示, 2017年 LCE (碳酸鋰當量)可能上漲至 25,000 美元以上。預計碳酸鋰價格在供應可用性問題上將持續上升至 2017年,而到 2020 年需求可能會從 2015 年飆升 64% 水平。

鋰電價格因電動汽車需求而大幅增長。 2016 年第一季度工業級碳酸鋰價格上漲至每噸 7,000 美元以上,據報導電池級別為每噸約 7,800 美元,較 2014 年價格上漲約 20%。 最近,智利北部阿塔卡馬地區全球最大的鋰鹽水生產商受到洪水災害的影響,工廠和鋰礦生產被暫停,實施了運輸封鎖,導致原材料價格上漲。

 

生產潛力

眾所周知,未來電池的使用將推動鋰電需求。 即使使用保守和經過驗證的電池預測也不會改變這一點,儘管有些人可能會驚訝地發現鋰的其他使用領域(如玻璃和陶瓷)的增長。 我們認為,到 2025年,整體鋰需求量將比目前的水平翻一倍以上。

  • 供應增長不足 - 目前鮮為人知的是,現任鋰生產商在向市場提供額外供應以滿足日益增長的需求方面的能力有限。 為了滿足到2020年的鋰需求,市場將需要新的生產商進入市場。
  •  

  • 電池成本不由鋰電池控制; 目前的電池成本不受原鋰成本的支配。 事實上, 假設生產鋰基電池陰極化學品的合理利潤率,即使鋰的成本大幅增加,也只會導致電池本身的成本增加很小。
  •  

  • 鋰電價格將上漲 - ; 所有這些意味著鋰價似乎會繼續走高。 不是連續的,也不是過度,而是更高。 鋰在過去的五六年裡一直是少數幾個享受價格升值的商品之一,我們認為沒有理由在未來 10 年內停止這種模式。 特別是電池級碳酸鋰和氫氧化鋰應該看到強勁的價格上漲。

移動技術的興起促成了今天的鋰電池搶購潮,這導致了電池價格的上漲 價格,並反過來誘使礦業公司尋找和開採新的礦床。 這次搶購的部分原因是特斯拉,它在 2013 年宣布計劃建立一個鋰離子電池“千兆工廠” 在內華達州。 該公司表示,幾年後,該設施將產生與 2013 年全球一樣多的電池電量。汽車公司和技術製造商紛紛前來參觀,預示著“千兆工廠” 屬於自己的。

精煉鋰取決於大量的水。 濃縮只含有微量鋰的鹽水需要燒掉大量的水,甚至需要更多的水來清洗成品。 一噸鋰通常需要多達 1,900 噸的水。

一些分析師曾將鋰描述為“白色石油”,這種資源可以幫助世界擺脫對化石燃料的依賴,進入電池供電的新時代。

全球氣候協議,緊縮燃料經濟標準以及中國試圖解決其污染危機都指向了未來,即電池 - 和他們的組成部分 將發揮越來越重要的作用。

鋰基電池更輕,充電速度更快,能夠儲存比傳統電池更多的能量,使其成為“替代汽油作為交通燃料的主要來源”的有力競爭者。 高盛和德意志銀行的分析師表示,該報告在 2015 年 12 月發布了一份報告,預測全球鋰市場規模到 2025 年可能翻兩番。市場仍然相對較小 - 每年價值約 10 億美元 並不是所有人都會就增長規模達成一致。 原材料耗費時間來提取開發。 但即使是懷疑者也承認,隨著電動汽車走向大眾市場,這些材料可能會變得越來越重要。 中國政府已經設定了到 2020 年將 500 萬輛電池電動和混合動力電動汽車的所有權目標,但這只能重塑需求曲線。

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

由於鋰離子電池在消費設備中幾乎無處不在,商品的平均價格已經上漲。 但為手持照相機或手機供電所需的電量仍然很小:每部手機的碳酸鋰當量 (LCE) 約為5克至 7 克。 然而,電動汽車的大眾市場可能顯著提升全球需求。 高盛估計,由美國電動汽車製造商特斯拉製造的型轎車在其電池中使用 63 公斤 LCE, 相當於約 10,000 部手機的內容。 雖然沒有標準化的鋰價格,研究小組估計,最常用的鋰,碳酸鋰價格自 2005 年以來漲幅超過 100%,並將持續上漲,直到 2018 年,屆時將有新的供應 穩定市場。

雖然早期的混合動力汽車使用鎳氫電池,但鋰離子電池現在是電動汽車的主導技術,鋰電池的使用壽命將比我們的壽命更長。 根據彭博新能源財經 (彭博新能源財經) 的數據,儘管鋰電價格近年來有所上漲,但製造過程效率的提高將鋰離子電池組的成本從 2010 年的每千瓦時 1000 美元降低至約 350 美元/BNEF)。 根據伯恩斯坦研究公司的估計,特斯拉在 3 月份推出的樣機3將於 2017 年交付,電池成本僅為 200 美元/千瓦時。

BNEF 預測,到 2022 年,電動汽車的無擔保總擁有成本將低於汽油燃料競爭對手。

鋰電行業繼續快速增長並不是什麼秘密,而這主要是因為金屬是鋰離子電池的關鍵組成部分。

 

 

鋰離子電池用於便攜式電子設備,電動工具等等,但今天他們最為人所知的是成為電動汽車的能源。 由於特斯拉汽車公司和其他汽車公司的努力,電動汽車變得越來越普遍,鋰的需求也在不斷增加。 美國地質調查局 (USGS) 的最新數據顯示,世界頂級鋰產國正在盡力滿足日益增長的需求。 2015 年至 2016 年全球鋰產量增長 12%,去年達到 35,000 公噸。

 

該 AMX Mining 機會

  • 在戰略上有利於充分利用鋰需求的不斷增長
  • 北鹽湖鋰礦項目優質鋰礦開發項目
  • 強大的現金頭寸可以快速推進項目
  • 擁有豐富經驗的管理團隊,並具有交付成功結果的記錄

AMX Mining | Investing in Lithium

Investing in Lithium

 

There are generally two ways to invest in this metal. One could directly buy stocks in companies involved in lithium mining or in Li-ion battery production. Or one could get involved in funds that invest in companies of this type. The success of the investment will depend on the sustained popularity of mobile devices and the increased popularity of electric cars. All these devices need Li-ion batteries, and as such the demand for the metal will skyrocket. The global market for these batteries was $11.7 billion back in 2012. By the end of 2016, that’s expected to double to $22.5 billion. Also in 2012, the automotive sector accounted for 14% of the Li-ion battery market. By the end of 2016, this will grow to as much as 25% by the end of 2016.

 

 

Price History of Lithium

Two factors determine the price of lithium, and first we need to consider abundance.

There’s only as limited supply of this element, because it only makes up 0.0007 percent of the Earth’s crust. Chile produces most of the element for the world market, with Australia coming in second. In the US you can only find a single mine in the whole country. It doesn’t occur naturally in elemental form, either.

With such a limited supply, any increase in demand can truly boost the price of the metal in the world market. And that’s happening right now because of the current success of the Tesla car company. The electric car industry is rising like a phoenix, with Apple and Google poised to launch their own versions soon. Even the Chinese, with the billionaire Jia Yueting leading the way, will also enter the scene with a billion-dollar factory set for car production by 2017.

What these things all mean is that the demand for lithium-ion batteries will rise even further. The price of lithium carbonate is up by 47% from 2015 and the year 2017 will see increased sales of pure electric cars.

Add the fact that Li-ion batteries are also used for mobile devices such as smartphones, tablets, laptops, and other wearable devices, and the demand for the commodity will surely increase as well.

 

Price forecast

From 2015 to 2024, the market supply of Li-ion batteries for light vehicles is forecasted to total

around $US221 billion, according to market intelligence. Current price predictions indicate that LCE (Lithium Carbonate Equivalent) may rise to over US$25,000 in 2017. The forecasted price for lithium carbonate will continue to rise through to 2017 on supply availability concerns, while demand is likely to soar 64 percent by 2020 from 2015 levels.

The price for lithium concentrate has undergone substantial growth caused by the demand for electric vehicles. In the first quarter of 2016 the industrial grade lithium carbonate prices rose to more than US$7,000 per tonne with battery grade reported to be around US$7,800 per tonne, an increase of about 20% from the 2014 price. Recently the world's largest Lithium brine producer in the Atacama region of northern Chile was affected by a flood disaster, the SQM plant and lithium production was suspended, a transportation blockade was enforced, leading to an increase in raw material prices.

 

Production Potential

It is generally known to be true that battery use will drive lithium demand in the future. Even using a conservative and proven battery forecast does not alter this point, although some may be surprised to see the growth in some other areas of lithium use, such as glass and ceramics. We would suggest that overall lithium demand will more than double from present levels through 2025.

  • Insufficient Supply Growth – What is less well known is the fact that incumbent producers of lithium are limited in their ability to bring additional supply to the market to satisfy growing demand. The market will need new producers to reach market in order to satisfy lithium demand through 2020.
  •  

  • Battery Cost Not Dominated by Lithium – The present costs of batteries are not dominated by the cost of raw lithium. In fact, assuming reasonable margins in the production of lithium-based battery cathode chemicals, even a large increase in the cost of lithium should result in only a very small cost increase in the batteries themselves.
  •  

  • Lithium Prices Will Rise – All the above means it seems likely that lithium prices will continue marching higher. Not continuously, and not excessively, but higher. Lithium has been one of the few commodities to enjoy price appreciation over the last five or six years, and we see no reason for this pattern to stop in the next 10 years, either. Particularly, battery grade lithium carbonate and lithium hydroxide should see strong price increases.

Today’s lithium rush is powered by the rise of mobile technology, which has led to a run-up in prices and, in turn, lured mining companies to finding and exploit new deposits. The rush was set off in part by Tesla, which in 2013 announced plans to build a lithium-ion-battery “Giga-factory” in Nevada. In a few years, the company has said, the facility will produce as much battery power as the entire world did in 2013. A parade of car companies and technology makers have followed, heralding “Giga-factories” of their own.

Lithium refining depends on gargantuan amounts of water. Concentrating the brine, which contains only traces of lithium, requires burning off lots of water, and even more is needed to wash the finished product. A ton of lithium generally requires as much as 1,900 tonnes of water.

Lithium has been described by some analysts as “white petroleum”, a resource that could help the world move away from its dependence on fossil fuels and into a new era of battery powered energy.

Global climate agreements, tightening fuel economy standards and China’s attempts to tackle its pollution crisis all point towards a future in which batteries — and their component parts — will play an increasingly important role.

Lithium-based batteries are lighter, charge faster and are able to store more energy than traditional ones, making them a strong contender to “replace gasoline as the primary source of transportation fuel” according to analysts at Goldman Sachs and Deutsche Bank, which published a report in December 2015 predicting that the size of the global lithium market could triple by 2025. The market is still relatively small — worth about $1bn a year — and not everyone agrees on the scale of growth to come. The raw material is time-consuming to extract development. But even sceptics admit the material will probably become increasingly important as electric vehicles move towards mass-market adoption. China, where the government has set an ownership target of five million battery-electric and hybrid-electric vehicles on the road by 2020, could alone reshape the demand curve.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

As the lithium-ion battery has become almost ubiquitous in consumer devices, the average price of the commodity has risen. But the amount needed to power a handheld camera or phone is still small: about five to seven grams of lithium carbonate equivalent (LCE) per phone. A mass market in electric vehicles could, however, significantly lift global demand; Goldman Sachs estimates that the Model S sedan, made by the US electric carmaker Tesla, uses 63kg of LCE in its battery — the equivalent content of about 10,000 mobile phones. Although there is no standardised price for lithium, research groups are estimating that prices for the most commonly used variety of lithium, lithium carbonate, have risen more than 100 per cent since 2005, and will continue to rise until 2018, when new supply is expected to stabilise the market.

While early hybrid vehicles used nickel-metal hydride batteries, lithium-ion is now the dominant technology in electric cars and the usefulness of lithium batteries will last longer than our lifetimes. Although the price of lithium has risen in recent years, greater efficiencies in the manufacturing process have pulled down the cost of lithium-ion battery packs from $1,000 per kilowatt-hour in 2010, to about $350/kWh, according to Bloomberg New Energy Finance (BNEF). The prototype Model 3 that Tesla unveiled in March, which is due for delivery in 2017, has a battery cost of just $200/kWh according to estimates from Bernstein Research.

BNEF predicts that the unsubsidised total cost of ownership of an electric vehicle will fall below that of its petrol-fuelled rivals by 2022.

It’s no secret that the lithium sector continues to grow rapidly, and that’s largely because the metal is a key component of lithium-ion batteries.

 

 

Lithium-ion batteries are used in portable electronic devices, electric tools and more, but today they’re best known for being an energy source for electric vehicles. Electric vehicles are becoming increasingly common, spurred on by the work of Tesla Motors and other car companies, and demand for lithium is increasing in tandem. The latest data from the US Geological Survey (USGS) shows that the world’s top lithium-producing countries are doing their best to meet that growing demand. Worldwide lithium production rose 12 percent from 2015 to 2016, coming in at 35,000 metric tonnes (MT) last year.

 

The AMX Mining Opportunity

  • Strategically placed to take advantage of the growing surge in lithium demand
  • Quality lithium development project at Beihuo Salt Lake Lithium Project
  • Strong cash position allowing rapid advancement of project
  • Highly experienced management team with a track record of delivering successful outcomes